24.1 C
Tuesday, May 21, 2024
HomeSportsCricketCWI names squads for second Best v Best three-day match

CWI names squads for second Best v Best three-day match


(CWI) St John’s, Antigua – Cricket West Indies (CWI) announced the two teams for the second and final Best v Best three-day match at the Coolidge Cricket Ground. The match will be played from Monday, November 1 to Wednesday November 3. The teams will again be led by Kraigg Brathwaite and Jermaine Blackwood.

The Selection Panel has made several changes with most of the bowlers switching sides to offer the batters preparation against different types of bowling and vice versa. Fast bowlers Kemar Roach, Alzarri Joseph, Preston McSween and Chemar Holder, along with spinners Imran Khan and Jomel Warrican are now on the Brathwaite Team. Fast bowlers Shannon Gabriel, Nial Smith and Jayden Seales, along with spinners Rahkeem Cornwall and Veerasammy Permaul are now on the Blackwood Team.

The first Best v Best match was played at the same venue last week. The highlights were centuries by Nkrumah Bonner (166 not out) and Shai Hope (100 not out). Please see match details here: https://www.windiescricket.com

West Indies players are using the Best v Best series as part of their preparations for a two-match Test series in Sri Lanka next month. West Indies will have a four-day warm-up match in Colombo from November 14 to 17. The Test matches will follow on November 21 to 25 and November 29 to December 3. Both Test matches will be played at the Galle International Stadium.

The series is the second of six series, three at home and three away, that West Indies will play in the 2021-2023 ICC World Test Championship. Please see ICC World Test Championship table here: https://bit.ly/3EcJXpV


Brathwaite Team

Kraigg Brathwaite (captain)

Shamarh Brooks

Joshua Da Silva

Chemar Holder

Shai Hope

Alzarri Joseph

Imran Khan

Kyle Mayers

Preston McSween

Kemar Roach

Jeremy Solozano

Jomel Warrican


Blackwood Team

Jermaine Blackwood (captain)

Nkrumah Bonner

Rahkeem Cornwall

Shannon Gabriel

Jahmar Hamilton

Kavem Hodge

Shayne Moseley

Veerasammy Permaul

Kieran Powell

Raymon Reifer

Jayden Seales

Nial Smith


Match Schedule in Sri Lanka

November 14 to 17: Warm-up match in Colombo

November 21 to 25: 1st Test at Galle International Stadium

November 29 to December 3: 2nd Test at Galle International Stadium


Most Popular

Contact a Program
If you are interested in a program or advertising, send us a message.
Send Message
Signup for our Newsletter
We'll only be in touch when we've something exciting to share.
We never share your details
No thanks