24.1 C
Tuesday, May 21, 2024
HomeNewsLocal NewsDonella Thompson Captures Top Spot Among 107 Students at CSS

Donella Thompson Captures Top Spot Among 107 Students at CSS


By Devonne Cornelius

St. Kitts and Nevis (WINN) — Ms. Donella Thompson has emerged as the Valedictorian for the graduating Class of 2020 of the Charlestown Secondary School (CSS), and Mr. Patrice Nisbett II as the Salutatorian.

Ms. Thompson in delivering her valedictorian speech said she was humbled to be afforded the opportunity to speak on behalf of her fellow graduates. She encouraged her classmates as they prepare for the world of work, college, and university, to “don’t be afraid to try new things, move forward with confidence, knowing that if we work hard we can achieve great heights”.

The valedictorian admonished her classmates about the uncertainty of life uttering the words “life is not a set schedule. Everyone does not have to do everything at the same time or in the same way. Your success may not come at the same time as mine. My opportunities might not present themselves in the same way as yours do,” adding that her fellow graduates should take time to uncover their gifts.

Remarks were delivered by the Principal of the Charlestown Secondary School, Mr. Joel Williams, and the presentation of certificates were done by Ms. Yvonne Hendrickson, a teacher at CSS.

107 graduates received various awards for their performance in the July/ August 2020 examinations facilitated by the Caribbean Examinations Council. The awards included the Premier’s Award for passing six or more subjects; the CSS Excellence Award; Brands Architectural Award; The Sir Hugh Rawlins Award; The Bank of Nevis Award; and The James T. Neale Award among others.

The ceremony which was chaired by Ms. Jamila Boddie, a past graduate of CSS, took place on Tuesday, December 08, 2020, at the Nevis Cultural Village and was held under the theme “Overcoming and Progressing”.

Among those present at the ceremony were Her Honour Deputy Governor-General, Mrs. Hyleeta Liburd; Premier of Nevis and Senior Minister of Education, the Hon. Mark Brantley; Junior Minister of Education, the Hon. Troy Liburd; Permanent Secretary in the Ministry of Education, Mr. Kevin Barrett; parents and teachers.


Most Popular

Contact a Program
If you are interested in a program or advertising, send us a message.
Send Message
Signup for our Newsletter
We'll only be in touch when we've something exciting to share.
We never share your details
No thanks