24.1 C
Saturday, July 20, 2024
HomeNewsLocal NewsElectorate on Nevis cast ballots to select new Nevis Island Assembly

Electorate on Nevis cast ballots to select new Nevis Island Assembly


by Eulana Weekes

St. Kitts and Nevis (WINN): The Nevis Island Assembly Elections are underway after three registered political parties ended their electoral campaign on Sunday night at 11:59 pm.

Polls opened at 7 am and will close at 6:00 pm. However, any person in line before 6:00 pm will be allowed to cast their ballot.

The results of the Monday, December 12 elections will determine the composition of the Nevis Island Assembly for the next five years.

Twelve individuals were nominated on Monday, December 05 to contest five districts. The ballot papers in three electoral districts have two nominees listed, whilst two electoral districts have three nominees listed.

The general voters list comprises 13,169 electors. In District No 1 there are 2,297 voters. In District No 2: 4,485 voters; District No 3: 1,881 voters; District No 4: 2,608 voters and District No 5: 1,898 voters.


The sites at which voting are taking place are as follows:

District 1 :

Polling Division 1: Charlestown Primary School, with 2 Stations A & B

Polling Division 2: Maude Crosse Preparatory School, also with 2 stations A & B

Polling Division 3: Magistrate’s Court

Polling Division 4: High Court Building


In District 2:

Polling Division 1 is located at the Albertha Payne Community Centre, Bath, Stations A & B

Polling Division 2: Ivor Walters Primary School with two stations A & B and Cecele Browne Integrated School with two Stations C & D

Polling Division 3: Education Building Marion Heights – Stations A & B; United Pentecostal Church with station C. Nevis International Secondary School Annex- Station D; and Elizabeth Pemberton Primary School, Station E

Polling Division 4: Church of God, Cox


In District 3

Polling Division 1: New River Methodist Church

Polling Division 2: Gingerland Preschool

Polling Division 3: Charles L. Walters Community Centre at Hanley’s Road

Polling Division 4: Hardtimes Building-Station A; Joycelyn Liburd Primary School Station B

Polling Division 5: Gingerland Secondary School


In District 4:

Polling Division 1: Butlers Community Centre

Polling Division 2: Church of God, Brick Kiln

Polling Division 3: Franklyn Browne Community Centre

Polling Division 4: Methodist Hall, Fountain

Polling Division 5: VOJN Primary School with two stations A & B


District 5:

Polling Division 1: Cotton Ground Community Centre -Stations A & B

Polling Division 2: Jessups Community Center -Stations A & B

Polling Division 3: Nevis Performing Arts Centre (NePAC)

The feedback on the ground leading up to election day is that a majority of the seats will be a battleground; and as usual, voter turnout which includes overseas voters will be a major factor in the electoral race.

The NIA Election is being held during Advent for the second consecutive time, despite the Nevis Evangelical Association’s advanced call for this not to occur at such a period.


Most Popular

Contact a Program
If you are interested in a program or advertising, send us a message.
Send Message
Signup for our Newsletter
We'll only be in touch when we've something exciting to share.
We never share your details
No thanks