24.1 C
Thursday, July 25, 2024
HomeNewsLocal NewsFour Students Receive 2024 William Marcus Natta Memorial Scholarship Award

Four Students Receive 2024 William Marcus Natta Memorial Scholarship Award


by Kevon Browne

St. Kitts and Nevis (WINN) – Four students from Irishtown Primary School and Tucker Clarke Primary School have been named the 2024 William Marcus Natta Memorial Scholarship Fund recipients. The award ceremony took place on June 18, recognising these students for their academic achievements, financial need, character, and community involvement.


Award Presentations 2024


In the presentation of the awards, it was explained that for 2024, 18 students applied for the scholarship. While academic performance is a criterion, the scholarship also emphasises financial need, quality of character, and community involvement.


Before announcing the 2024 Natta Scholars, the Scholarship Committee acknowledged the other 14 applicants. Each received tokens of appreciation, including the “IT Matters Life Skills Handbook” by Elzeva Cuffy, encouraging them to continue striving for excellence. The 14 acknowledged applicants are:


A’taljae Liburd

Ajahnique Jacobs

Annell Archibald

Cael Wattley

Calron Browne

Danajae Williams

Hazanie Hull

Jahmeira Williams

Jahsonya Jarvis

Jeronique Lewis

Lequanni Brookes

Satish John

Savanna Francis

T’Koidra Huggins


2024 Natta Scholars


The Scholarship Committee proudly announced the four recipients who exemplify the qualities of a Natta Scholar. Each scholar received a trophy, a $200 gift certificate redeemable at Schools Apex Co-operative, a $200 gift certificate redeemable at Laws Bookstore, and a $100 award towards establishing a savings account at the First Federal Credit Union. The First Federal Credit Union also matched the $100 gift, enabling each scholar to start their savings account with $200.


Tikylia Henry


An eleven-year-old grade six student at Irish Town Primary School, Tikylia Henry, has been recognised for her excellent behaviour and hard work. She dreams of becoming a medical doctor to help others overcome illnesses. Tikylia is also a dancer and a K.A.C Kids Dance Group member.


Tashenia Thomas


Tashenia Thomas, also eleven and an Irish Town Primary School student, enjoys learning new things. Despite living at the St. Christopher Children’s Home and missing her mother, she strives to make the most of her situation. She plans to use the scholarship to buy more books and join after-school programs.


Kaliyanna Rawlins


Kaliyanna Rawlins, a twelve-year-old from Tucker Clarke Primary School, lives in a single-parent household with her younger sister. She has learned to be grateful and understanding of her mother’s struggles. Kaliyanna aspires to study law at university.


Jahmari Anthon


Jahmari Anthon, a Newtown United Under-13 Football Team player, is in grade six and enjoys mathematics. A year ago, his family was evicted from their home, and they now live with his grandfather. At eleven years old, Jahmari is dedicated to contributing financially to his family.


Tricia King, a marine biologist and MPA manager, delivered the keynote address. Roger Woodley, the Deputy Chief Education Officer in the Ministry of Education, also gave brief remarks to the students.


The William Marcus Natta Memorial Scholarship Fund, established in 2010, continues to support and encourage students through its annual scholarship awards.


Most Popular

Contact a Program
If you are interested in a program or advertising, send us a message.
Send Message
Signup for our Newsletter
We'll only be in touch when we've something exciting to share.
We never share your details
No thanks