24.1 C
Thursday, February 29, 2024
HomeBusinessGovernors of Five States and Puerto Rico Sign on to Bryan's Letter...

Governors of Five States and Puerto Rico Sign on to Bryan’s Letter to CDC Calling for the Easing of Cruise Travel Restrictions


(VI Consortium) Gov’t House said Tuesday that a bipartisan team of governors from five states and Puerto Rico have signed-on to a letter that Governor Albert Bryan sent to Centers for Disease Control and Prevention Director Rochelle Walensky and Dr. Marcella Nunez-Smith, the chairwoman of President Joe Biden’s Covid-19 Health Equity Task Force, asking the CDC to issue updated regulations to expedite the reopening of cruise ports in the United States.

According to the release, governors who co-signed Mr. Bryan’s letter are Governor Pedro Pierluisi of Puerto Rico; Governor Ralph Northam of Virginia; Governor Larry Hogan of Maryland; Governor John Bel Edwards of Louisiana; Governor David Ige of Hawaii; and Governor Mike Dunleavy of Alaska.

Gov’t House said Mr. Bryan’s letter asks Ms. Walensky to have the CDC issue updated guidance that will help cruise lines and ports fully resume operations and open up a dialogue about how the states, territories and federal government can work collaboratively to make it possible for the cruise industry to generate tourism-related dollars in the affected jurisdictions.

Read more


Most Popular

Contact a Program
If you are interested in a program or advertising, send us a message.
Send Message
Signup for our Newsletter
We'll only be in touch when we've something exciting to share.
We never share your details
No thanks