24.1 C
Friday, July 12, 2024
HomeNewsLocal NewsMonths of tense political campaign turned into victory for SKNLP

Months of tense political campaign turned into victory for SKNLP


by Eulana Weekes

St. Kitts and Nevis (WINN): The St. Kitts-Nevis Labour Party (SKNLP) was victorious at the polls on Friday August 5, 2022, winning a majority of seats in the National Assembly Elections. The SKNLP won six of the eight seats contested in St. Kitts.

In St. Christopher 1 (East Basseterre) Dr. Geoffery Hanley amassed a total of 2,709 votes, defeating Natasha “Shanny” Grey-Brookes of the People’s Action Movement (PAM) who received a total of 745 votes and Jacqueline Bryan who received 737 votes for the People’s Labour Party (PLP). In St. Christopher 2 (Central Basseterre) the lone female contender for that seat and also for the SKNLP, Marsha Henderson received winning results with 1,841 votes. Other contenders, Jonel Powell of PAM received a total of 737 votes and Nubian Greaux received 707 votes for PLP.

In the electoral district, St. Christopher 3 (West Basseterre) Konris Maynard defeated the other contenders by a large margin with a total of 1,747 votes. Kervin Freeman of PAM received a total of 300 votes, whilst the PLP Candidate, Akilah Byron-Nisbett received a total of 720 votes. The electoral district, St. Christopher 4, which many predicted would be a close race between the SKNLP and PAM, was won by newcomer Samal Duggins of the SKNLP. He amassed a total of 1,269 votes. Lindsay Grant of PAM received a total of 761 votes, whilst Kendale Liburd of the PLP copped 293 votes.

Electoral District St. Christopher 6 was secured by Dr. Denzil Douglas of the SKNLP, amassing a total of 1,926. Dr. Douglas has been a Member of Parliament for more than three decades; having first won Constituency 6 in the 1989 National Assembly Election and every other election since then. Troy Flanders of PAM received a total vote count of 98, whilst Dr. Marc Williams of the PLP received a total vote count of 309.

After several failed attempts contesting the largest electoral district in St. Kitts and Nevis, St. Christopher 8, Dr. Terrance Drew was elected to be the Parliamentary Representative for the areas of Conaree to Cayon. He claimed victory with a total of 2,950 votes. The PAM Candidate Chesley Hamilton received 895 votes, whilst Andrew Bass received 761 votes under the umbrella of the PLP.

As leader of the winning SKNLP, Dr. Drew received his appointment as Prime Minister from the Governor-General His Excellency Sir S.W. Tapley Seaton and was sworn in on Saturday, August 06, 2022 at Government House. The Hon. Dr. Terrance Drew is expected to serve as Prime Minister for the next five years. The next election is constitutionally due in the year 2027.

Dr. Drew is the country’s 4th Prime Minister and also the second Prime Minister for St. Kitts and Nevis under a St. Kitts-Nevis Labour Party Government.

The two other SKNLP candidates Kenneth Douglas and Leon Natta-Nelson did not win their seats but gained significant grounds at the polls in the August 05 elections. Kenneth Douglas contested the seat in St. Christopher 5 against Stachio Williams of the PLP who received 243 votes and Leader of PAM, the Hon Shawn Richards who copped 1,025 votes. Richards returns as the Parliamentary Representative for the areas of Sandy Point, Fig Tree and La Valle. Kenneth Douglas of the SKNLP received 825 votes. In the electoral district St. Christopher 7, Leon Natta-Nelson of the SKNLP secured 903 votes, whilst Lincoln David Pelle of PAM received 176 votes. PLP leader the Hon. Dr. Timothy Harris won the seat capturing 1,266 votes.

The SKNLP amassed a total of 14,170 votes whilst PAM received an overall total of 4,737 votes. PLP received a total of 5,036 votes.

Some key observations from the results of the elections are, the six elected SKNLP candidates won every box in their constituencies. Konris Maynard made history in St. Kitts and Nevis by becoming the first parliamentarian to lose and win his seat again. Both Samal Duggins and Marsha Henderson won their seats in their first run. An additional observation is that the SKNLP outperformed PAM by 9,433 votes and PLP by 9,134 votes. PAM received the least amount of votes in the August 05 elections. PLP received 299 more votes than PAM. No other PLP or PAM candidate reached the thousand mark in vote count. Besides Dr. Harris and Richards, PAM’s Chesley Hamilton received 895 votes; 105 votes short of 1,000.

The election is over and in the coming days, Prime Minister Dr. Terrance Drew is expected to name his Cabinet and officially assign the ministers their portfolios; as they seek to take St. Kitts and Nevis forward.


Most Popular

Contact a Program
If you are interested in a program or advertising, send us a message.
Send Message
Signup for our Newsletter
We'll only be in touch when we've something exciting to share.
We never share your details
No thanks