24.1 C
Wednesday, April 17, 2024
HomeNewsLocal NewsNine young people receive Youth Impact 12 Award

Nine young people receive Youth Impact 12 Award


by Devonne Cornelius

St. Kitts and Nevis (WINN): Nine young people on Nevis have been recognised by the Department of Youth in the Nevis Island Administration (NIA) for their work and meaningful contribution to social and community development.

The Youth Impact 12 Awards Ceremony was held on Thursday, November 04, 2021, at the Micheal Herald Sutton Auditorium of the Nevis Performing Arts Centre under the theme “Champions of Youth Work”.

The nine recipients for the Youth Impact 12 Awards are Mr. Brendon Claxton — Education and Lifelong Learning; Ms. Mervil Jahnel Nisbett — Patriotism; Ms. Maliqua Kamau and Ms. Diandra Archibald — Volunteerism; Mr. Shakir Stapleton — Youth Development; Mr. Davien Griffin — Youth in the Arts; Ms. Yahsulazie Grant-Flanders — Youth in Entrepreneurship; Mr. Jevon Claxton — Youth in Technology; and Mr. Javani Tyson — Sports Excellence.

In an exclusive interview with one of the awardees Mr. Javani Tyson on Thursday, he said “I would like to thank the Department of Youth for nominating me. Even though I wasn’t there [at the ceremony] physically, I was there in spirit.

The sports enthusiast attributed his success to his mom Ms. Tasha Parris. “I express love and appreciation to my mom who is a big role model. She’s my number one coach. She made sure that every summer I was engaged in different sporting events,” young Tyson said, adding that “when I was young, she carried me to netball and football games at the park and I remember the days she used to travel to represent Nevis.

Mr. Tyson also took the time to thank and show appreciation to Mr. Elquemedo Willett, Mr. Carl Tuckett, Mr. Stuart Williams, and Mr. Trini Charles for coaching him in cricket and Mr. Leroy “JunJun” Sweeney, Mr. Jamir Claxton, and Mr. Alex Claxton.

Speaking at the awards ceremony was Ms. Kerdis Clarke, Director of the Department of Youth, who commended the young people for their work in nation-building. 

“Nine deserving, hardworking, dedicated, and selfless champions will be awarded for their sterling contributions to nation-building. I wish to express heartfelt congratulations to all of you. We salute all of your remarkable contributions over the years,” Ms. Clarke said. 

The Youth Impact 12 Awards is an award where the Department of Youth recognises outstanding young people from the ages of 18 to 30 for their outstanding contributions in various categories.


Most Popular

Contact a Program
If you are interested in a program or advertising, send us a message.
Send Message
Signup for our Newsletter
We'll only be in touch when we've something exciting to share.
We never share your details
No thanks