24.1 C
Monday, December 4, 2023
HomeNewsLocal NewsNine youths in Nevis to receive special recognition at Youth Impact 12...

Nine youths in Nevis to receive special recognition at Youth Impact 12 Awards Ceremony


by Eulana Weekes

St. Kitts and Nevis (WINN): The Department of Youth- Nevis presents the Youth Impact 12 Awards Ceremony dubbed “Tropical Edition” slated for Thursday, September 28, 2023 at the Malcolm Guishard Recreational Park.

Nine extraordinary young men and women on the island of Nevis will receive awards for their contributions to nation building. The awardees include:

Teacher Shabaina Powell in the category Education and Lifelong Learning

Christopher Clarke-Volunteerism

Jalden Myers- Sports Excellence

Kerisha Powell- Youth Development

Hydeia Tyson- Youth in Agriculture

Wentworth Smithen- Youth in Culinary Arts

Elisel Ramirez Dorsett- Youth in Performing Arts

Jonathan Ward- Cultural and Historical Preservation

Dr. Tivon Browne- Health and Wellbeing

According to the Department of Youth,” In addition to receiving a trophy, each awardee will be presented with a grant through Regency Assurance. The purpose of this grant is to support awardees’ Volunteer Projects, which will be completed throughout the upcoming cycle.”

The event will feature Brandell Marie of OP Music, a Moko jumbie group- Skywalkers and Saxophonist Blessed Ogbum.

Shakeem Parris and Neila Jones will chair the ceremony.

The 2023 Youth Impact 12 Awards is in its fourth cycle and forms part of the St. Kitts and Nevis Independence 40 Calendar of Events. Each cycle begins in September and ends in August of the following year.

The Youth Impact 12 Awards is an invitation only event.


Most Popular

Contact a Program
If you are interested in a program or advertising, send us a message.
Send Message
Signup for our Newsletter
We'll only be in touch when we've something exciting to share.
We never share your details
No thanks