24.1 C
Saturday, July 20, 2024
HomeNewsLocal NewsNineteen citizens receive Medal of Honour, Star of Merit awards

Nineteen citizens receive Medal of Honour, Star of Merit awards


By Satff Writer

St. Kitts and Nevis (WINN): The Medal of Honour and the Star of Merit awards have been presented to 19 nationals of St. Kitts and Nevis for their outstanding contribution in areas of education, culture, sports, music, broadcasting and youth development. 

Prime Minister the Hon. Dr. Terrance Drew revealed the list of awardees during his address in observance of National Heroes’ Day on September 16, 2022. 

Awarded for long and meritorious service, or for loyal and devoted service to the Nation

  • Eileen Grey — Education, Culture and Sports 
  • Dennis Richards — Education, Arts and Culture 
  • Lorraine Browne — Education 
  • Dr Lincoln Carty — Education 
  • Sylvester Charles — Education, Music, Sports and Volunteerism 
  • Violet Jones-Mawnlawde — Education
  • Maxwell Bass Sr — Music and Security Services 
  • Nathan Esdaille — Education and Religion 
  • Wayland Vaughan — Education 
  • Shirley Kelly — Nursing Education 
  • Lorna Ava Henry — Culture and the Arts 
  • Pastor Lincoln Connor — Nation Building and Youth Development 
  • Elsie ‘Teacher Elsie’ Mills — Education and Religion 
  • Clement Juni Liburd — Broadcasting 
  • Lloyd Lazar — Education and Sports (posthumous) 
  • Kenrick Georges – Arts and Music (posthumous)

Medal of Honour:

Awarded for outstanding and meritorious service to the Nation

  • Mable Morton — Community Service and Entrepreneurship 
  • Clyde Richardson — Music and the Arts 
  • James ‘Mickey’ Frederick — Performing Arts and Culture 

Prime Minister Drew said, “It brings me great pleasure to bestow this honour to you. You have served your country well and I pray your lives continue to be an example and inspiration to all.”

He added: “I look forward to the day when we as a nation recognize and salute our brave women who have brought about transformative change to our twin-island Federation, by esteeming them with the ultimate honour of National Hero.”

The awardees were chosen by the National Awards Committee and in accordance with the National Honours Act established in 1996. 

Read the National Honours Act at https://www.lawcommission.gov.kn/ 



Most Popular

Contact a Program
If you are interested in a program or advertising, send us a message.
Send Message
Signup for our Newsletter
We'll only be in touch when we've something exciting to share.
We never share your details
No thanks