24.1 C
Wednesday, July 24, 2024
HomeNewsLocal NewsNomination Day is over; Nevisians to decide the way forward in December...

Nomination Day is over; Nevisians to decide the way forward in December 12 elections


by Eulana Weekes

St. Kitts and Nevis (WINN): The Concerned Citizens Movement (CCM) and the Nevis Reformation Party (NPR) on Monday, December 05, 2022, each nominated five candidates to contest the upcoming Nevis Island Assembly Elections slated for Monday, December 12, 2022.


The candidates for the Concerned Citizens Movement are  Spencer Brand- Constituency 1, nominated by Donella Caines and John Abbott Jr.; Mark Brantley- Constituency 2, nominated by Dennis Browne and Lorna Hunkins; Eric Evelyn-Constituency Number 3, nominated by Deslyn Evelyn and Berley Walwyn; Alexis Jeffers-Constituency Number 4 nominated by June Isles and Stanley Williams; and Latoya Jones- Constituency Number 5 nominated by Marcus Duberry and Carol Rawlins.


The candidates for the Nevis Reformation Party are  Jaedee Caines- Constituency Number 1, nominated by Gavincia Clarke and Raynaldon Bartlette; Dr Patricia Bartlette -Constituency Number 2, nominated by Charnette Tyson-Liburd and Spencer Hanley;  Rohan Isles- Constituency Number 3 nominated by Quinito Griffin and Patsy Hanley; Dr Janice Daniel Hodge- Constituency Number 4 nominated by Corrine Hodge and Ronald Powell; and Cleone Stapleton-Simmonds- Constituency Number 5 nominated by Laquanda Cornelius and Brandon Hamilton.

The nomination site for the candidates for Constituency 1 was the Charlestown Magistrate Court. For Constituency 2, nominations occurred at the Albertha Payne Community Center in Bath Village. In Constituency Number 3, the nomination site was the Hanley’s Road Community Center- Gingerland. The Newcastle Police Station was the nomination site for the Candidates in Constituency Number 4, whilst nominations for Constituency Number 5 took place at the Cotton Ground Police Station.

The atmosphere on the grounds showed true party spirit and camaraderie by the candidates and supporters of the CCM and NRP as they moved from one nomination site to the other.

The motto for Jaedee Caines is “Gains with Caines”. Dr Patricia Bartlette says, “Your Voice and a Better Choice”. Rohan Isles says Isles In 3. The motto for Dr Janice Daniel Hodge is “Janice Cares”, whilst Cleone Stapleton Simmond says “, Moving forward with Cleone”.


As it relates to the Concerned Citizens Movement, Spencer Brand’s motto is “Only Brand in Town” Mark Brantley suggests “Better with Brantley”. Eric Evelyn says, “All in with Evelyn”. The motto for Alexis Jeffers is “Jeffers at Work”, whilst Latoya Jones is campaigning on the slogan “All the Way with LBJ”.


Eligible persons on Nevis will be called upon to elect their most favoured representatives to champion the cause of Nevisians for the next five years following the December 12 elections. One week remains, and it is expected that the campaign and political climate will intensify with the arrival of overseas voters.


Attempts were made to contact the political leader of the Moral Restoration Movement, Samuel Caines, for comment on nomination day but were unsuccessful at news time. It was reported previously that the MRM, who contested the federal election, would also contest the local election on Nevis.


It is unclear whether the MRM or any independent candidates were duly nominated, but we await official word from the Electoral Office.



Most Popular

Contact a Program
If you are interested in a program or advertising, send us a message.
Send Message
Signup for our Newsletter
We'll only be in touch when we've something exciting to share.
We never share your details
No thanks