24.1 C
Friday, September 22, 2023
HomeNewsLocal NewsPM Drew pays homage to National Heroes and recognised Twenty-nine nation builders...

PM Drew pays homage to National Heroes and recognised Twenty-nine nation builders of SKN in his 2023 National Heroes Day Address.


by Eulana Weekes

St. Kitts and Nevis (WINN): Kittitians and Nevisians on September 16 commemorated the 25th National Heroes’ Day celebration by honouring and remembering the heroes who laid the foundation for the country’s development and success.


Setting the tone for the day, Prime Minister Dr Terrance Drew delivered a National Heroes Day Address to the nation at daybreak. 


He acknowledged the sacrifice and courage of the five National Heroes: The Right Excellent Sir Robert Llewellyn Bradshaw, The Right Excellent Sir Caleb Azariah Paul Southwell, The Right Excellent Sir Joseph Nathaniel France, The Right Excellent Sir Simeon Daniel and The Right Excellent, The Right Honourable Sir Kennedy Simmonds.


0:43 “This moment is a testament to our enduring spirit, solidarity and unwavering commitment to progress and prosperity. On this day, we remember the remarkable legacies of our National Heroes. Those individuals who, from humble beginnings, rose to become the guiding lights of our nation; their stories serve as a powerful reminder that greatness resides within us all, waiting to be awakened through dedication, focus and a relentless pursuit of positive change.


Twenty-nine contemporary heroes, as described by Prime Minister Drew, were also named and recognised for their various contributions to the advancement and enrichment of the country through patriotism, courage, innovative spirit and unwavering commitment to service.


The Companion of the Star of Merit was bestowed upon:


Daniel Arthurton- Agriculture, Farming and Small Business Development.

Ima Stanley- Nursing

Ian Queeley- Law Enforcement

Carmen Ward- Education 

Ingrid Berridge- Education

Prisca Heyligar- Education and Religion

Dr Osbert Liburd- Agro-Business, Corporate Business and Diplomacy

Mitchell Slader- Trade Unionism/ Labour Relations

Cynthia Williams- Education

Avril Noel- Education

Peter Jenkins- Sports and Community Activism

Eldora Samuel- Education

Ruby Taylor- Social Security


The Medal of Honour was bestowed upon:


Felix Hodge- Law Enforcement

Sydney Matthew- Music and Sports(Table Tennis)

Altagracia Nero- Entrepreneurship

Austin Williams- Law Enforcement

Joseph Liburd- Law Enforcement

B. Janetta Morgan- Education

M. Astona Browne- Public Service

Lenos Douglas- Law Enforcement

Charles ‘Ronnie Rascal’ Davis- Culture Music and the Arts

Margaret Douglas- Education

Lynn Williams- Culinary Arts

Alister Williams- Culture

Alva Bradley- Broadcasting

Donald Freeman- Sports and Community Activism

Patrick Wallace- Law Enforcement

Austin ‘Dico’ Huggins- Sports


The Prime Minister is confident that everyone can be heroes by making simple but positive contributions to others. 


“On behalf of a grateful nation, I extend our heartfelt gratitude to these individuals who have inspired us all with their actions, showcasing that each of us has the potential to make a positive impact and become a hero in our daily lives.”


Prime Minister Drew added, “Heroes are not just found in history books; they walk among us every day. They are the educators shaping young minds, the healthcare workers saving lives, the community leaders forging bonds and the individuals who, through small acts of kindness, make our nation strong. On this National Heroes Day, I challenge each of us to recognise the hero within ourselves. We can all be heroes in our daily lives, not through grand gestures, but through simple acts of kindness, empathy and being our brothers and sisters keepers.”


Most Popular

Contact a Program
If you are interested in a program or advertising, send us a message.
Send Message
Signup for our Newsletter
We'll only be in touch when we've something exciting to share.
We never share your details
No thanks