24.1 C
Friday, July 12, 2024
HomeSportsFootballPrimary Schools Football Tournament is back on Nevis

Primary Schools Football Tournament is back on Nevis


St. Kitts and Nevis (Sports Page) – After a two-year hiatus due to the covid -19 restrictions, the Primary Schools’ Football tournament is officially back.

The tournament was officially declared open on Wednesday 19th October at the ET Willet Park, by Minister of Sports, Hon. Eric Evelyn.

Prior to the declaration by Minister Evelyn, the impressive ceremony featured the following:

The invocation was done by Pastor Otis Browne and the national anthem by student at the Elizabeth Pemberton Primary School, Jaiida Gilfillan.

The proceedings were ably chaired by Sports Officer, Aljay Newton, who gave welcome remarks.

President of the Nevis Football Association, Mr. Everette France, also shared words of wisdom with the youthful footballers and Second Vice President of the SKNFA, Mr. Cuthbert Caines, followed suit, with similar sentiments.

Minister of Education, Hon. Troy Liburd, also admonished the children to play the game hard, but fairly and to use the opportunity to make new friends.

The officials’ oath was presented by Referee Ulinda Warner and the players’ oath was done by Elizabeth Pemberton Primary School’s student, Kiyan Blake.

Closing remarks and the vote of thanks, were done by Director of Sports, Jamir Claxton.

The tournament is being held under the esteemed patronage of former primary schools’ star Footballer and athlete, Andre Browne, who performed the ceremonial goal kick, to start the tournament, leaving Permanent Secretary in the Ministry of Education, Mr. Kevin Barrett, flat footed in the goal.

Four matches were played immediately after the opening ceremony and by the look of things and the response from members of the general public, it will be a keenly contested and much appreciated tournament.

The ten competing schools are-Group One: Ivor Walters Primary; Maude Cross Prep; St. Thomas’ Primary; Violet O.J. Nicholls Primary; St. James’ Primary. 

Group two: Charlestown Primary; Nevis Academy; Joycelyn Liburd Primary; Elizabeth Pemberton Primary and Montessori.


Most Popular

Contact a Program
If you are interested in a program or advertising, send us a message.
Send Message
Signup for our Newsletter
We'll only be in touch when we've something exciting to share.
We never share your details
No thanks