24.1 C
Basseterre
Sunday, September 19, 2021
HomeEntertainmentRapper DMX Memorial Service to be Livestreamed from Brooklyn's Barclays Center

Rapper DMX Memorial Service to be Livestreamed from Brooklyn’s Barclays Center

spot_img

(Reuters) American rapper and actor Earl Simmons, known by his stage name DMX or Dark Man X, will be mourned by fans around the world in a livestreamed event from Brooklyn’s Barclays Center on Saturday.

Simmons, 50, died on April 9 after suffering a heart attack a week earlier, which many media outlets initially attributed to a drug overdose.

The memorial at the Barclays Center will be closed to the public but will be streamed live on DMX’s YouTube account at 4 p.m. ET (2000 GMT). A second event will be broadcast live on BET Sunday at 2:30 p.m. ET (1830 GMT) from an undisclosed church in the New York City area.

His chart-topping songs included “Party Up (Up in Here)” and “X Gon’ Give It To Ya.” The Yonkers, New York native’s career had been marked by legal troubles and prison time, and a well-publicized struggle with drug addiction.

Read more

spot_img
Advertisementspot_img

Most Popular

Advertisement
Contact a Program
If you are interested in a program or advertising, send us a message.
Send Message
Signup for our Newsletter
We'll only be in touch when we've something exciting to share.
We never share your details
No thanks
Subscribe