24.1 C
Thursday, May 23, 2024
HomeNewsPress ReleaseRepublic of China (Taiwan) continues to invest heavily in human resource development...

Republic of China (Taiwan) continues to invest heavily in human resource development in St Kitts and Nevis


Basseterre, St. Kitts (SKNIS): The Republic of China (Taiwan) continues to invest heavily in human resource development in St. Kitts and Nevis by offering monetary scholarships to local students.

The latest of such was showcased at the annual Monetary Taiwanese Scholarship Ceremony on March 23 at the Immaculate Conception Catholic Church Auditorium, where 170 students – 126 from St. Kitts and 45 from Nevis – from primary, secondary and tertiary educational institutions were awarded.

Resident Ambassador of the Republic of China (Taiwan) to St. Kitts and Nevis, His Excellency Michael Lin, said that investing in human resource development is extremely important to fueling national development.

“As we all know, human resources lay the foundation for national development, and education is the key to the enhancement of human resources. Over the years, the Government of the Republic of China (Taiwan) has been working closely with the Government of St. Kitts and Nevis in human resources development of the Federation by [sponsoring] the human resources development project implemented on an annual basis,” said Ambassador Lin. “We are very glad to see that this has been consistent in contributing to the education and the future success of the students in St. Kitts and Nevis.”

His Excellency Lin congratulated the recipients on their achievements and encouraged them to keep excelling. He also expressed gratitude to the Ministry of Education and by extension, the Government of St. Kitts and Nevis for their “strong support in the project” adding that through this “strong effort” of the two countries “we will continue to support the students and teachers, as well as the human resource development in St. Kitts and Nevis.”

Minister of Education, the Honourable Jonel Powell, reflected on the relationship between both countries and expressed gratitude to the Government of the Republic of China (Taiwan).

“The partnership and friendship forged with the Government and people of the Republic China (Taiwan) have grown tremendously and for that we are eternally grateful. Without their generosity the celebration would not have materialized,” said Minister Powell.

The annual Monetary Taiwanese Scholarship project provides funding for scholarships and other teaching and learning resources. The ceremony was slated for late 2021 but had to be postponed due to circumstances surrounding COVID-19.

The recipients from St. Kitts were Julian Pennyfeather, Omeara Delaney, Anique Wilson, Julicia Isaac, Latrell Samuel, Keonte Fyfield, Isaiah Crooke, Adalai Laws, Malik Gumbs, Kahli Crossley, Quincy Farrell, Kericia Morrishaw, Unique Tomlinson, Darius Blair, Clivern O’Flaherty, Lashawn Ward, Jasano Henderson, Eternity Lewis, Jovan Jeffers, Jaren Pennyfeather, Shel-liyah Woolard, Keliese Phillip, Karencia Williams, Jazaria Jeffers, Shetarz-yna Dias, Nubia Bristol, Aksana Gordon, Raheem Mason, Dejon Walters, Iyan-Jah Scott, Dy’shelle Elliott, Amelia Gardener, Avernisha Morton, Jamari Thomas, Akiloncea Dore, Anjelika McCall, Tejano Bennett, Allissa Francis, Ze’Dan Challenger, Jomekah Carty, Lovique Morton, K’Naz Joseph, Kenvil Francis, Kezzanie Browne, Joanie Rochester, Myesha Rawlins, Adriel Langley, Alaina Isaiah, T’Ayanique Davis, Te’Janae French, Lesaraniqua Morton-Phipps, Kedelsa Mason, Faith Richards, Reyanna Matthew, Jonathon Bradshaw, Azaniah Johnson, Kyembra Delaney, Dereon Herbert, Tfield Thomas, Jah-Neah Walters, Ryu Williams, Tyron Rasheed, Kianna Jeffers, Dave Cannonier, Rainbow Richards, Kirkland Harris, Kyandre Watson, Alika Peets, Azanique Bloyce, Cordisher Browne, Tilanique Carty, Annalisa Lelawattie, Janieve Scott, Alexander Lewis, McKayla Huggins, Dinique Wilson, Kimani Taylor, Lacretia Henderson, Evinton Farrell, Danyelle Buchanan, Antwon Rawlins, Lamar Johnson, Juda Stanley, Kalani Heyliger, Tyrese Griffin, Romain Tweed, Stephon Dasent, Renee Robinson, Analdre Fyfield, Elandre Govia, Aushi Fleming, Dhakiya Blyden-Jeffers, Tipharah Heyliger, Hadassah Cuffy, Danieka Dickenson, Janella Belle, Destiny Harvey, Patrina Perreira, Jion Mike, Danielle Daley, Amaner Caesar, Shalisha Watson, David Cannonier, Bruce Moses, Roydencia Peets, Saniqua France, Kimberly Hodge, Sientanicia Thomas, Dario Esdaille, Kadeem Percival, Tiana Bradshaw, Kasuane Fieulleteau, Jovella Richards, Trendon Henry, Mya Charles, Tijuani Stevens, Shenice Richards, Junique Pinney, Toniecia Wystt, Normesha Govia, Josianne Bertie, Digon Hodge, Melissa Phillip, Everard Rogers, and Jeremiah Welcome.

The recipients from Nevis were Latisha Sutton, Kayin Burnett, Osanno Douglas, Jahziah Morton, Na-Aliyah Smithen, Omarion Jeffers, T’shanzi Taylor, La-Taivia Powell, Cyara Liburd, Callia Hobson, Antwon Percival, Delonte Warner, Destiny Greene, T’Zahree Stephenson, Eldon Herbert, Anaiah Wilkin, Aaroon Woolward, Sammarya James, DeKimba Prentice, Shanielle Nisbett, El-Anyah Grant, Devine James, Destiny Tyson, Jahzara Ross, Alex Moolprasad, Edwin Jeffers Jr., Nathan Burroughs, Kenjahlee Blair, N’Kosanae Hanley, Ta-Liyah James, Jamual McDonald, Te’vez Wilkin, Briande Jones, Moriah Daniel, Malachaii Wilkin, Brianne Chapman, Tnajhe Jeffers, Travez Browne, Shakim Lewis, Astra Simon, Camille Burnette, Jermaine Manners, Elkan Edwards, Tashari Kelly and Hallie Yankey.


Most Popular

Contact a Program
If you are interested in a program or advertising, send us a message.
Send Message
Signup for our Newsletter
We'll only be in touch when we've something exciting to share.
We never share your details
No thanks