24.1 C
Tuesday, February 27, 2024
HomeNewsLocal NewsSixteen students awarded at Warren C Tyson Memorial Scholarship Award ceremony

Sixteen students awarded at Warren C Tyson Memorial Scholarship Award ceremony


by Kevon Browne

St. Kitts and Nevis (WINN): The TDC Group of Companies hosted its 41st Warren C Tyson Memorial Scholarship Awards Induction Ceremony on October 15, 2022.

The program, started in 1981 and named after the company’s first chairman, supports students entering public secondary schools, six in St. Kitts and two in Nevis.

In his remarks, Earl Kelly, Chairman and CEO of the TDC Group of Companies, mentioned that Prime Minister Hon. Dr. Terrance Drew came through the program and used that as an opportunity to inspire the students.

“We can have the first female Prime Minister in St. Kitts and Nevis coming through the program. That should give you an indication of the importance of the program because… of the benefits that were derived from the program… We have doctors; we have lawyers; we have teachers; we have accountants; we have managers – this program has benefited the country quite a bit, and I have no doubt that it would benefit the inducted today. I want you to do the very best you can do. You are bright; that’s one of the reasons why you’ve been awarded a scholarship. So take advantage of it, prove to us that the investment was worth it, that the money was well spent. It could be five, seven or 20 years from now, don’t lose the connection with TDC.”

The chairman said 257 students have benefited from the scholarship with an investment of EC$6 million to the program.

Eight students from eight secondary schools around the Federation were awarded the Warren C Tyson Memorial Scholarship Award.

The eight students awarded are – Arad Aulder, Jadenique Griffin, Kenejah David, Colois Duke, Aaliyannah Byron, Jayden Warner, Antonya Bedford and Kimaya Phipps.

At the brief ceremony, eight other students from the eight public secondary schools received the TDC Financial Services Academic Excellence Award, which included a certificate and a backpack with school supplies.

The eight students awarded were – Janiyah Campbell, Julissa Doras, J’Myah Richardson, Marquel Greene, Makeisha James, Jewel Nisbett, Nalaxcia Hazel and Hanser De La Cruz.


Most Popular

Contact a Program
If you are interested in a program or advertising, send us a message.
Send Message
Signup for our Newsletter
We'll only be in touch when we've something exciting to share.
We never share your details
No thanks