24.1 C
Thursday, June 20, 2024
HomeNewsLocal NewsSKNFRS honours Fire officers at Awards Ceremony

SKNFRS honours Fire officers at Awards Ceremony


by Eulana Weekes

St. Kitts and Nevis (WINN): A contingent of fire officers in the St. Kitts & Nevis Fire and Rescue Services were recognized for their valuable contributions to the Federation during an awards ceremony held on Sunday evening May 07, 2023 at the Solid Waste Conference Room.

There were several categories of awards, including Years of Service, Most Dedicated Officer on each shift, Most Dedicated Supervisor at each Fire Station, as well as 4 categories of special awards.

Eight officers were honored for their service of 25 years and more to the country. They received a gold, silver and a bronze medal accompanied by a certificate.

Eighteen officers were recognized for their service of 20-24 years. They received a silver and bronze medal, as well as a certificate.

Seven fire officers were honored for their service of 15-19 years. They received a bronze medal and a certificate.

For the achievement of 10 years, twelve Fire officers received a certificate.

Ms. Dona Isaac received a certificate as the Longest Serving STEP Officer attached to the SKNFRS.

Seventeen firefighters received a certificate as the most dedicated officer on their respective shifts for 2022-2023. The officers include;

Amal Richards and Clement Hodge of the Vance W Amory International Airport Fire Hall; Vaughn Ward, Rashad Stapleton and Dion Dolphin from the Tabernacle Fire Station; Simbah Hanley, Dennis Morris and Elvin Woodley at the Sandy Point Fire Station; Vincent Cornelius,Javion Smith and Raekwon Martin at the Basseterre Fire Station; Travis Ried, Khyra Morris and Mermain Christmas at the Charlestown Fire Station, as well as Jamie Henry,Ringo Gumbs and Cortez Parris at the Robert Llewellyn Bradshaw International Airport Fire Hall.

The Special Awards category were the Courage to Overcome Award, Fire Prevention Education Award, Extra Mile Award and Courage to Overcome Award.

The Courage to Overcome award was presented to Fire officers James Haynes and Cornell Warner, who continue to display dedication and commitment in service to the country, despite their significant physical challenges.

FSSO Timothy Martin and Ag. Chief Fire Officer Rommel Williams received the Fire Prevention Education Award.

Receiving the Extra Mile Award were fire officers Linell Richardson and Travis Reid, for going over and beyond the call of duty.

The Long Service Award was presented to two officers, Glenville Dolphin for achieving 38 years of Service and Julian Pemberton for his contribution of 30 years of service to the country.

Six officers had the opportunity to win prizes following a pre-organized fun activity; and at the end of the ceremony, officers took a look back at the past by viewing a slideshow of pictures and musical entertainment by Deejay Buzz.

Remarks were given by P.S Cecile Hull and Ag. Chief Fire Officer Rommel Williams.

The Chairperson was Ms. Querida Finch.



Most Popular

Contact a Program
If you are interested in a program or advertising, send us a message.
Send Message
Signup for our Newsletter
We'll only be in touch when we've something exciting to share.
We never share your details
No thanks