24.1 C
Saturday, September 23, 2023
HomeNewsLocal NewsSKNLP recognizes stalwarts at party’s 90th anniversary church service

SKNLP recognizes stalwarts at party’s 90th anniversary church service


By Eulana Weekes

St. Kitts and Nevis (WINN): The Political Leader of the St.Kitts-Nevis Labour Party (SKNLP) Hon. Dr. Terrance Drew and other members and supporters of the party celebrated the party’s 90th milestone achievement with a church service on Sunday, January 22, 2023, at the Antioch Baptist Church.

The Party Leader recognised the individuals who made significant contributions to the nation and mentioned that the 90 years celebration 

“I am filled with joy to stand here today to commemorate the 90 years of committed service of the St. Kitts-Nevis Labour Party and the St.Kitts-Nevis Labour Movement that what they have rendered to the people of this country over so many years. There is so much we could have done to acknowledge and celebrate the stalwarts that came before us and the work they did to advance this country; but  I  believe one of the best ways to commemorate the party’s historic 90 years, was to return the party to Government,” Dr. Drew said. 

He added: “I am delighted that we have all gathered here today to honour the 90th anniversary of our great party and to reflect on and acknowledge the people that played an integral part in making the party’s history and legacy one that is rich, vibrant, unshakeable and undeniable. None can negate the fact that  this movement, The St.Kitts-Nevis Labour Party is intimately and intricately embedded in the success, the revolutions and various means of development and advancement of this country and beyond, even in the Caribbean and of course, the world.”

Dr. Drew recognised the stalwarts of the Party, who made up the Executive of the St. Kitts Workers league; Mr Thomas Manchester- President,  Mr. William Harrigan-Seaton- Vice President; Mr.John Harney- Treasurer; Mr Jay Blackett- Secretary; Mr Joseph Sebastian and Mr Joseph Nathan- Executive Floor Members. 

He also recognised other stalwarts who contributed to the success and longevity of the party; the first National Hero- The Right Excellent Sir Robert Llewellyn Bradshaw, Sir Caleb Azariah Paul Southwell, Sir Joseph Nathaniel France, Anne Liburd, Patsy Allers, Morlene Whittaker, Ada-May Williams, Clarence Fitzroy Bryant, Sir Lee Lewellyn Moore, St. John Payne, Fidel O’Flaherty, His Excellency Sir Cuthbert Sebastion.

A moment of silence was therefore observed for all the stalwarts and freedom fighters.

Meanwhile, the Party officially read into the record the individuals who contributed to the SKNLP as members of Parliament in the National Assembly. The individuals include:

Thomas Manchester and Edgar Challenger (1937); Joseph Matthew  Sebastian (1940); Morris Herbert Davis (1944); Robert Llewellyn Bradshaw (1946); Joseph Nathaniel France (1946); Caleb Azariah Paul Southwell (1952); Frederick T Williams (1952); Milton P Allen (1958); Clarence Fitzroy Bryant (1956); William Ev Glasford (1957); Lee Llewellyn Moore (1971); Esmond St.John Payne (1971); Ivan DeGrasse (1971); Charles Egbert Mills (1975); Denzil Llewellyn Douglas (1989); Sam Terrance Condor (1989); Earl Asim Martin (1993); Timothy Sylvester Harris (1993); Cedric Roy Liburd (1995); G.A. Dwyer Astaphan (1995); Rupert Emmanuel Herbert (1995); Jacinth Henry Martin (2000); Marcella Althea Liburd (2010); Glen Ghost Phillip (2010); Konris Maynard (2015); Dr. Geoffrey Hanley (2020); Samal Duggins (2022); Marsha Henderson (2022); and Terrance Michael Drew (2022)

Dating back to the year 1932, the St.Kitts-Nevis Labour Party is the oldest political party in the English-speaking Caribbean and remains a formidable force in the political arena of the country and the Caribbean. 

According to Prime Minister Drew, the St.Kitts-Nevis Labour Party created a turning point for workers of St. Kitts and Nevis, by giving them a voice, and opportunities to advance, be independent and be landowners. He added that the party was instrumental in ensuring that people rose from poverty to sustainability and equally, spearheaded several major projects that created a  pathway to freedom and benefits for the people of the Federation.



Most Popular

Contact a Program
If you are interested in a program or advertising, send us a message.
Send Message
Signup for our Newsletter
We'll only be in touch when we've something exciting to share.
We never share your details
No thanks