24.1 C
Thursday, December 3, 2020
Home News Local News Social Security Board Awards Susanna Lee High School Scholarships To 21 Students

Social Security Board Awards Susanna Lee High School Scholarships To 21 Students

By Devonne Cornelius

St Kitts and Nevis (WINN) — The St. Christopher and Nevis Social Security Board awarded 21 students across the federation with the “Susanna Lee High School Scholarship” for their continued excellent academic work, at an induction ceremony at their boardroom on Tuesday, October 27, 2020.

The scholarship, which is in its 37th year, was awarded to Jhonique Williams and Tejaun Webbe of the Charles E. Mills Secondary School; Rozelle Morris and Shylyn Micheal of the Saddlers Secondary School; Kahlia Collins of the Washington Archibald High School; Adamina Kelly of the Basseterre High School; Jhavean Liburd of the Charlestown Secondary School; Aniya Liburd of the Gingerland Secondary School; Josiah Davis of the Cayon High School; and De’Journica Williams of the Verchilds High School, all of whom are 1st form students.

Also receiving scholarships were eleven students who are 2020 fifth form graduates. They include; Wrenzanae Thomas who obtained 8 subjects with 2 distinctions and J’Simba Mitcham who captured 8 subjects with 1 distinction both of the Cayon High School; Shomar Bowry of the Saddlers Secondary School who attained 9 subject passes with 3 distinctions; Jacquan Clarke of the Charlestown Secondary who passed 8 subjects with 1 distinction; Sabrina Narain of the Washington Archibald High School who received 9 subjects with 4 distinctions; Charlyn Myers of the Gingerland Secondary School who sat and successfully passed 10 subjects with 4 distinctions; Fiquesha Garnette of the Verchilds High School who captured 10 subject passes with 5 distinctions; and Zanique Williams of the Charles E. Mills Secondary School who passed 11 subjects securing 5 distinctions; Steve Vern Walters Jr. of the Gingerland Secondary School who secured 7 subject passes with 1 distinction; Shaniah Flemming of the Basseterre High School with 6 subjects; and Raziq Charles of the Cayon High School with 4 subjects and 1 distinction.

Director of the St. Christopher and Nevis Social Security Board, Mr. Antonio Maynard, and Mr. Ernest Pistana, Chairman of the Board, presented the certificates to the awardees which were followed by the Signing of Commitment Agreement by the parents and students.

The induction ceremony which was held under the theme “Never give up” saw the Featured Address being delivered by Scholarship Alumni and now Principal of the Verchilds High School, Mr. Miguel Thomas.

In his address, he said, “There were times when I got tired, there were times when I wanted to give up, but whatever the goal is, the goal is at the end of your road you need to stick to it. Everybody’s path is not the same. But the end goal that you want to see, you can achieve that end goal. You might struggle, you might cry, you will stumble at times but you are never in a position to give up”.

Minister of Social Security, the Hon. Eugene Hamilton, in his remarks to the attendees, said “Scholarships have come to be appreciated the world over as one of the ways to fill the void facing many individuals as they seek to maximize on opportunities for education. In the case of our Social Security program, it was a very pioneering vision way back in 1983. Minister Hamilton further added that “This vision inspired the Social Security Board to present an Independence gift to the new federation of St. Kitts and Nevis, one that would not only be of direct assistance to students and parents of deserving scholars, who may not without this type of assistance realize their fullest potential, but would also propel our nation into uncharted educational spaces”.

At the ceremony, remarks were made by Ms. Jenifer Williams, Chairperson of the Scholarship Committee who admonished the recipients to always strive to be successful. The program was also packed with expressions of appreciation and a poem by some recipients.

Also in attendance were Minister of Education, the Hon. Jonel Powell and other senior education officials as well as the staff of the Social Security Board, parents, and guardians.

Most Popular

Old Road Rehabilitation Project Suffers Another Delay

By Kevon Browne St Kitts and Nevis (WINN): Another hurricane season has come and gone and the Old Road Rehabilitation Project still remains incomplete. The Old...

Amidst Global Economic Strain, SKN 2021 Budget Looms

By Devonne Cornelius St. Kitts and Nevis (WINN) — Citizens and residents of St. Kitts and Nevis are to expect the federal budget address on...

Basseterre Fisheries Complex Under New Management With New Protocols After Fish Poisoning Scare

By Kevon Browne St Kitts and Nevis (WINN): The Basseterre Fisheries Complex was re-opened on Friday, November 27 2020 under new management and with revised...

Premier Brantley Credits Strong Leadership For Keeping Nevis Afloat

NIA CHARLESTOWN NEVIS  -- Hon. Mark Brantley, Premier of Nevis and Minister of Finance in the Nevis Island Administration (NIA) is crediting strong leadership...

Government Writes Off LIAT $11 Million Debt

By Kevon Browne St Kitts and Nevis (WINN):  St. Kitts-Nevis has agreed to write-off EC$11 million owed by debt-ridden regional airline LIAT (1974) Ltd. LIAT, now...

Education Minister Hon Powell Commits To Secure Higher Success Rate In Mathematics

BASSETERRE, ST. KITTS, December 2, 2020 (MMS-SKN) -- Mathematics continues to be a problematic subject for many of the secondary school students in the...

St Lucia Remains Destination of Choice Despite CDC Level 3 Alert

(Loop SLU) The Saint Lucia Tourism Authority (SLTA) says tourism arrivals are not expected to diminish despite Saint Lucia’s high-risk COVID-19 status with the...

Abuse Remains An Issue For The Differently-Abled, Says Anthony Mills

Basseterre, St. Kitts (SKNIS): On Thursday, December 03, 2020, St. Kitts and Nevis will observe the International Day of Persons with Disabilities, which is...

Kolkata Knight Riders Buy stake In US Major League Cricket

MUMBAI, India (Reuters) – Indian Premier League (IPL) team Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR), co-owned by popular Bollywood actor Shah Rukh Khan, has picked up...

US Justice Department Investigates Alleged ‘Bribery For Pardon’ Scheme at White House

(The Guardian) An alleged “bribery for pardon” scheme at the White House is under investigation by the justice department, according to a court filing...


Contact a Program
If you are interested in a program or advertising, send us a message.
Send Message
Signup for our Newsletter
We'll only be in touch when we've something exciting to share.
We never share your details
No thanks