24.1 C
Thursday, January 21, 2021
Home News Local News Special Sitting of Assembly In Nevis on the 50th Anniversary of Christena...

Special Sitting of Assembly In Nevis on the 50th Anniversary of Christena Disaster

St Kitts and Nevis (WINN): Prime Minister Dr. Timothy Harris, Former Prime Ministers Dr. Kennedy Simmonds and Dr. Denzil Douglas, Premier Mark Brantley and former Premier Vance Amory will offer remarks at a special sitting of the Nevis Island Assembly to commemorate the 50th anniversary of the MV Christena Disaster.

The sitting on Friday, July 31, 2020, will be presided over by Hon. Farrel Smithen, President of the Nevis Island Assembly and will commence at 10:00 am.

In other news about the commemoration of the Christena Disaster, the government-owned and operated ferry that reportedly crossed the 12-mile route between St Kitts and Nevis for 11 years before it sank on August 1, 1970, a documentary is expected to be unveiled next weekend. Stevenson Manners, a member of the local organizing committee spoke with WINN FM 98.9.

Listen here

Most Popular


Contact a Program
If you are interested in a program or advertising, send us a message.
Send Message
Signup for our Newsletter
We'll only be in touch when we've something exciting to share.
We never share your details
No thanks