24.1 C
Wednesday, February 21, 2024
HomeNewsLocal NewsSt Kitts and Nevis To Host CPL Tournament

St Kitts and Nevis To Host CPL Tournament


by Staff Writer

St Kitts and Nevis (WINN): St Kitts and Nevis will host the Hero Caribbean Premier League’s T20 tournament this year in its entirety.

Minister of Sports Jonel Powell made the announcement during a CPL virtual press conference on April 27.

“It is my pleasing duty to announce that yesterday, the Federal Cabinet of St Kitts and Nevis approved the hosting of the entire 2021 CPL tournament here in St Kitts and Nevis to be held at Warner Park, in Basseterre St Kitts. We look forward to partnering with CPL, we look forward to the tremendous economic benefits that will flow from having the entire tournament held here and the continued cricket development that ensues from the relationship between us, CPL, the St Kitts and Nevis Patriots, and our own local cricket association.”

The tournament will be staged at the Warner Park Cricket Stadium in August 2021.

Pete Russell, CEO of the Caribbean Premier League, said that the staging of the tournament is important to the recovery of the region.

“We believe it is such an important part of the recovery of the region that we’re able to host CPL at all, we were very lucky in being able to host it in Trinidad last year which was very successful. And this year again continues that process, we all hope that the region gets back to some sort of normality. We absolutely appreciate and understand that tourism is very much a part of the economies so it’s very important to us that CPL takes place and we’re very grateful” Russell said.

Minister Powell also announced that as of May 15, patrons will be allowed to attend sporting events.

“I am happy to announce that as of May 15, 2021, St Kitts and Nevis will be allowing patrons to attend all sporting events to the extent of the capacity of 50 percent of the venue. Those patrons will have to be fully vaccinated with an approved COVID-19 vaccine. This will extend to all sporting events and include CPL. And so we are looking forward to hosting at least 50 percent of the capacity of our venues in terms of the patrons who have been fully vaccinated.”

The T20 annual cricket tournament was first staged in 2013. The Trinidad and Tobago Knight Riders won the prized title in 2020 for a record fourth time.



Most Popular

Contact a Program
If you are interested in a program or advertising, send us a message.
Send Message
Signup for our Newsletter
We'll only be in touch when we've something exciting to share.
We never share your details
No thanks