24.1 C
Friday, April 19, 2024
HomeElections 2022Supervisor of Elections provides update on polling stations; 34 candidates to contest...

Supervisor of Elections provides update on polling stations; 34 candidates to contest the election


By Devonne Cornelius

St. Kitts and Nevis (WINN): Supervisor of Elections Mr. Elvin Bailey has announced the official list of duly nominated candidates and the sites for polling stations for the St. Kitts and Nevis National Assembly Elections set for Friday, August 05, 2022. 

Mr. Bailey gave the update on Sunday, July 31, 2022. Thirty-four candidates are seeking election into the country’s National Assembly representing six parties and one independent candidate. 

Jacqueline Bryan of PLP, Natasha Grey-Brookes of PAM, and Dr. Geoffrey Hanley of SKNLP will contest St. Christopher 1. Nubian Greaux of PLP, Marsha Henderson of SKNLP, Jonel Powell of PAM, and John “Ras Kalongi” Jeffers of ULP will contest St. Christopher 2. In St. Christopher 3, the candidates are Akilah Byron-Nisbett of PLP, Kervin Freeman of PAM, and Konris Maynard of SKNLP. 

St. Christopher 4 will be contested by Samal Duggins of SKNLP, Lindsay Grant of PAM, and Kendale Liburd of PLP. Kenneth Douglas of SKNLP, Shawn Richards of PAM, and Stachio Williams of PLP in St. Christopher 5. Dr. Denzil Douglas of SKNLP, Carlton Dupont (Independent), Troy Flanders of PAM, and Dr. Marc Williams of PLP will contest St. Christopher 6. Lincoln David-Pelle of PAM, Dr. Timothy Harris of PLP, and Leon Natta Nelson of SKNLP will contest St. Christopher 7.

In St. Christopher 8, the candidates are Andrew Talbo Bass of PLP, Dr. Terrance Drew of SKNLP, and Chesley Hamilton of PAM. Dr. Patricia Bartlette of NRP, Mark Brantley of CCM, and Samuel Caines of MRM are contesting Nevis 9. Eric Evelyn of CCM and Rohan Isles of NRP are contesting Nevis 10, Dr. Janice Daniel-Hodge of NRP, Alexis Jeffers of CCM, and Patricia Mills-Jeffers of MRM are the candidates for Nevis 11. 

Registered voters in St. Kitts and Nevis will vote at the following polling stations:

Constituency 1 – Parish Center, East Independence Sq. St.; Media Center, Warner Park; Tucker Clarke Primary School; Kim Collins Athletic Stadium; Public Works Department, Wellington Road; Police Training Complex; and Hope Chapel Methodist Church, George St. 

Constituency 2 –  Wesley Methodist Church Hall, Seaton Street; SKELEC, Central Street; Job Ward Center, Dr. Lake Drive, Shadwell; St. Barnabas Anglican Church, Malone Ave; CFBC, Burdon Street; and former CPU Building. 

Constituency 3 – St. Johnston’s Community Center; Antioch Baptist Church Hall, Infirmary Road; Methodist Church School Room; Apostolic Faith Church, St. Johnston Ave; NEMA Building; and Bronte Welsh Primary School. 

Constituency 4 – Challenger’s Community Center; Ebenezer Methodist Church School Room, Old Road; Tyrell Williams Primary School; Grace Gospel Hall, Middle Island; and Halfway Tree Methodist Church.

Constituency 5 – New Sandy Point Recreation Ground; Sandy Point Preschool; former Zoily’s Supermarket, Station Street; Immanuel Methodist Church School Room; Nazareth Gospel Hall Figtree and “Container” the Ghaut; and Magistrate Court Sandy Point New Police Complex.

Constituency 6 – Newton Ground Primary School; St. Paul’s Community Center; St. Paul’s Primary School; Dieppe Bay Police Station; Parsons Community Center; and Saddlers Primary School.

Constituency 7 – Tabernacle Community Center; Edgar T Morris Primary School; Estridge Primary School; Covenant Outreach Ministry Church; Joshua Obadiah Williams Primary School; Molineaux Health Center; Mt. Carnel Community Center; and Violet Petty Primary School. 

Constituency 8 – Cayon Daycare Center; Cayon Church of God; Redeemed Baptist Church; Cayon Primary; St. Peter’s Community Center; St. Peter’s Anglican Church Hall; Conaree Community Center; Conaree Preschool; St. Peter’s Primary School; and Keys Community Center. 

Nevis 9 – Church of God of Prophecy, Cox; Elizabeth Pemberton Primary School; St. John’s Primary School Annex; Ivor Walters Primary School; Cecily Brown Integrated School; Education Building, Marion Heights; United Pentecostal Church; Albertha Payne Community Center; Methodist Church Hall; Magistrate Court; Charlestown Primary Schoo; and Court House. 

Nevis 10 – New River Methodist Church; Gingerland Preschool; Hanley’s Road Community Center; Hardtimes Building; and Gingerland Secondary School. 

Nevis 11 – Nevis Performing Arts Center; Jessups Community Center; Cotton Ground Community Center; V.O.J.N Primary School; Trinity Methodist Church Hall; Franklyn Browne Community Center; Brick Kiln Church of God; and Butlers Community Center. 

The parties contesting the National Assembly Elections are the Concerned Citizens Movement (CCM) whose symbol is the hammer; the Moral Restoration Movement (MRM) whose symbol is the sphere; The Nevis Reformation Party (NRP) whose symbol is the bottle; The St. Kitts Nevis Labour Party (SKNLP) whose symbol is the hand; The People’s Action Movement (PAM) whose symbol is the hat; the People’s Labour Party whose symbol is the saw; the United Lianmiguan Party (ULP) whose symbol is the tree and contesting Christopher 2 only; and one independent candidate in the person of Mr. Carlton DuPont whose symbol is the clock and contesting St. Christopher 6. 



Most Popular

Contact a Program
If you are interested in a program or advertising, send us a message.
Send Message
Signup for our Newsletter
We'll only be in touch when we've something exciting to share.
We never share your details
No thanks